East Sussex County Council Elections May 2017

The County Council elections will be held on 4 May 2017 and Wealden has had all of its candidates in place since September 2016. The candidates are fighting hard to get elected. This election matters in Wealden because we may be needed to help offset any losses on the coast. It is worth remembering that the Conservatives inherited the Council from the Lib Dems when it had just been awarded a 1 star ‘Weak’ rating from the Audit Commission. The Conservatives have been delivering a Council rated as a 4 star ‘Excellent’ rating during our stay in power and has done so whilst delivering zero tax rises in the last two years. We need to keep the County in Conservative hands and so we hope you will join us at one of the campaign days or contact the office for further details of campaigning dates and locations.

We have two excellent candidates in Hailsham New Town and Hailsham Market both fighting to ensure that we hold the one seat we have and take the other back from UKIP. We’ve just fought a successful town council by-election against the UKIP county councilor and the LibDems and with your help we hope to take both divisions. In Uckfield Claire Dowling, who took the division from the LibDems last time, is fighting them again. We know they have got stronger recently and it will take all our help to keep Uckfield blue. So do come and help Claire too if you can. And, of course, all our other super candidates would love some help too. There’s a full list below for reference.

Nick Bennett standing in the Arlington, East Hoathly & Hellingly Division.  This division includes Alciston, Arlington, Berwick, Chalvington & Ripe, Chiddingly & Golden Cross, Cowbeech, East Hoathly, Halland, Hellingly, Laughton, Lower Dicker, Lower Horsebridge, Lealands, Muddles Green, Selmeston, Upper Dicker, Waldron & Whitesmith

Sylvia Tidy standing in the Crowborough South & St Johns Division.  

Richard Stogdon standing in the Crowborough North & Jarvis Brook Division

Francis Whetstone standing in the Forest Row & Groombridge Division.  This division also includes Ashurstwood, Blackham , Coleman's Hatch, Eridge, Hammerwood & Holtye, Hartfield, Mark Cross Rotherfield, St Johns Wihthy and Sharpthorne.

Rupert Simmons standing in the Heathfield & Mayfield Division

Bob Bowdler standing in the Hailsham Market Division

Gerard Fox standing in the Hailsham New Town Division

Roy Galley standing in the Maresfield & Buxted Division which also includes Chelwood Gate, Danehill, Five Ash Down, Fairwarp, Fletching, High Hurstwood, Nutley and Piltdown

Chris Dowling standing in the Uckfield South with Framfield Division which also covers Blackboys, Little Horsted and  Cross in Hand

Claire Dowling standing in the Uckfield North Division also coveriing Isfield

Bill Bentley standing in the Wealden East Division covering, Bodle Street Green, Boreham Street, Broad Oak, Cade Street, Chapman's Town, Cowbeech, Herstmonceaux, Horam, Marle Green, Maynards Green, Ninfield, Punnnetts' Town, Rushlake Green. Vines Cross, Wartling andf Windmill Hill

Bob Standley standing in the Wealden North East Division covering Bells Yew Green, Eridge (pt), Frant, Hadlow Down, Mark  Cross Wadhurst, Rotherfield, Rushers Green and Wadhurst.

We have produced an outline campaign plan (below) which has most Saturdays marked out for activity in one or other of our more difficult areas. Do take a look and mark the events off in your diary. There will be other dates too of which branch chairs will be notified nearer the time.

Many thanks for your help. We can’t take East Sussex back into full Conservative control without you.


Attachment Size
Campaign Plan - March April.docx 13.54 KB