Cllr Bob Standley

Wealden District Council Leader, District Councillor for Frant and Wadhurst
County Councillor for Wealden NE and Lead Member for Education and Inclusion, Special Educational Needs and Disability
Deputy Chairman (Political) of Wealden Conservatives

An East Sussex County Councillor for Wealden North East (covering the parishes of Frant ; Hadlow Down ; Mayfield & Five Ashes ; Rotherfield ; Wadhurst) and Leader of Wealden District Councillor where he represents Frant & Wadhurst along with Cllr Johanna Howlell.  Bob is  Deputy Chairman (Political & Policy) of Wealden Conservatives.

On the East Sussex Authority he is the Lead Member for Education and Inclusion, Special Educational Needs and Disability while holding the following committee appointments:

  • Cabinet
  • County Consultative Committee (Chair)
  • County Joint Consultative Committee
  • East Sussex Schools Forum (Invited observer with speaking rights)
  • Full Council
  • Joint Advisory Committee for Schools (Chair)
  • Lead Member for Education and Inclusion, Special Educational Needs and Disability
  • Orbis Joint Committee

Bob was first elected as Wealden District Councillor for Wadhurst in 2004 and was re-elected in 2007 and 2011.  In 2007 he was asked to join the Wealden Cabinet as Portfolio Holder for Finance and from 2010 combined this with the role of Leader of the Council.

Bob was responsible for the launching of the Council’s Transformation Programme in 2010. This programme was designed to reduce the costs of running the Council whilst maintaining the services the community rely upon.

As a district councillor he has been closely involved in:

  • Overseeing the transformation programme which has reduced costs by £3million
  • Instigating sharing services with neighbouring authorities
  • The implementation of the enhanced waste collection service starting in July 2013. This will increase the items collected for recycling and will cost less than the current service.
  • Promoting the building of Council owned houses and at no cost to the Council Tax payer.
  • Strategic planning through the Local Enterprise Partnership which covers East Sussex, Kent and Essex.

Bob has also served as a Parish Councillor and has been involved in all aspects of the Parish Council responsibilities including planning, recreation ground and finance.


Attachment Size
Frant-and-Wadhurst-web.pdf 369.53 KB



Wealden District Council has launched ‘Hailsham Aspires’. This is the name given to the Hailsham Town Centre Regeneration Project following feedback from Hailsham Community College sixth-formers and other partners.


Wealden District Council has declared a climate emergency and is embarking on a series of actions where it can make a difference.

It is aiming to achieve net-zero carbon dioxide emissions by the Council and across the District by 2050 – and pursue efforts for an earlier date.


The successful Careers Hub to be extended to East Sussex primary schools. 

Junior school pupils will soon be inspired by the world of work as the county council is named the only local authority to lead on a Government pilot.


EAST SUSSEX COUNCIL and education leaders are celebrating a year of successes from a scheme aimed at improving careers advice and support for students across the county.


Nus Ghani, MP for Wealden, visited the King’s Arms, Rotherfield, in order to assess the recent damage caused by HGVs and to meet Chris and Antonia, who run the pub, to offer her support.


A MAJOR milestone in the development of a new primary school for Hailsham has been marked with a topping out ceremony. The event saw the final roof panel added to the 420-place Hailsham Community College Primary Academy in Park Road.


Wealden District Council saved £1.1 million of public money by working with a range of different organisations to procure services and assets for the authority.


Independence and a high quality of life

Grants Hill Court, Wealden District Council’s flagship retirement development, has been officially opened by the Chairman of Wealden District Council.


Responding to the requests of a large number of constituents, Nusrat Ghani MP met with BT Openreach to discuss the woeful internet provision in rural villages across Wealden.

See Also

Cllr Toby Illingworth

Chairman of Wealden Conservatives

Association Chairman and Wealden District Councillor for Buxted

Cllr Keith Glazier

Leader of East Sussex County Council

Leader of East Sussex County Council - Cllr Keith Glazier, member for Rye and Eastern Rother, covering the parishes of East Guldeford ; Icklesham ; Iden ; Pett ; Playden ; and Rye.

Cllr Kevin Balsdon

Town Councillor for Hailsham North-West
Deputy Chairman (Political) of Hailsham Conservatives

Kevin Balsdon is a Town councillor for Hailsham North-West

He says: "We live in a beautiful part of the country that is precious to us all, and I want to do all I can for the residents and the community here to ensure it remains that way.

Cllr Nick Bennett

East Sussex County Councillor for Arlington, East Hoathly and Hellingly, Nick is Lead Member for Transport and Environment.

Cllr Bill Bentley

East Sussex County Councillor for Wealden East

East Sussex County Councillor for Wealden East covering the parishes of Heathfield & Waldron ; Herstmonceux ; Hooe ; Horam ; Ninfield ; Warbleton ; Wartling -- Lead Member for Communities and Safety.

Cllr Bob Bowdler

County Councillor for Hailsham Market
District Councillor for Horam & Punnetts Town

I was first elected for Heathfield East in May 2015, and also elected to the county council in 2017.  

Cllr Nicholas Collinson

District Councillor for Hailsham North

Wealden District Councillor for Hailsham Central & North, Nick was elected as District Councillor for Hailsham Central & North Ward in May 2011.

Cllr Nigel Coltman

District Councillor for Hailsham Central
Town Councillor for Hailsham Hailsham Central
President of Hailsham Conservatives

Wealden district and Hailsham town councillor for Central Ward. President of Hailsham Conservatives.

Cllr Phil Dixon

District Councillor for Hadlow Down & Rotherfield
Deputy Chairman (Membership) of Wealden Conservatives

Association Officer and Wealden District Councillor for Rotherfield