Cllr Francis Whetstone

Cllr Francis Whetstone is the East Sussex County Councillor for Forest Row and Groombridge, representing the parishes of Forest Row ; Frant ; Hartfield ; Rotherfield; and Withyham. He is also President of  Wealden Conservatives.

He was elected in 1997 and is a member of the following ESCC committees:

  • Children's Services Scrutiny Committee
  • Commons and Village Green Registration Panel
  • Corporate Parenting Panel
  • Full Council
  • Regulatory Committee
  • Scrutiny Review ‘Coping with Change - the Way Forward’.

as well as an appointment to Conservators of Ashdown Forest.

I was elected councillor for Forest Row in 1997, having moved to Sussex in 1969. I feel one of the key roles of a councillor is reminding the rest of the county that not all the county faces south to the sea.

I have been involved in politics since 1955 when I helped a friend of my father who was standing in the safe Labour seat of Hackney central. As a councillor, I like to think that, in one or two cases, I have been able to help residents to get a more satisfactory outcome to their problem than they might otherwise have achieved.


See Also

Cllr Toby Illingworth

Chairman of Wealden Conservatives

Association Chairman and Wealden District Councillor for Buxted

Cllr Bob Standley

Wealden District Council Leader, District Councillor for Frant and Wadhurst
County Councillor for Wealden NE and Lead Member for Education and Inclusion, Special Educational Needs and Disability
Deputy Chairman (Political) of Wealden Conservatives

East Sussex County Councillor for Wealden North East
Wealden District Councillor for Wadhurst and Council Leader
a Deputy Chairman of Wealden Conservatives

Cllr Phil Dixon

District Councillor for Hadlow Down & Rotherfield
Deputy Chairman (Membership) of Wealden Conservatives

Association Officer and Wealden District Councillor for Rotherfield

Robin Farmer

Robin joined the Wealden officer team in 2003 and has used his professional experience to manage the Association's finances.

Cllr Richard Grocock

District Councillor for Hailsham West
Town Councillor for Hailsham West
Officer of Wealden Conservatives
Chairman of Hailsham Conservatives

Wealden District Council member for Hailsham South & West, Chairman of Hailsham Conservatives and Wealden Conservative Association Officer.

Cllr Richard Hallett MBE

District Councillor for Crowborough St John's
Wealden Conservatives' Treasurer

Richard Hallett has lived in Crowborough for 36 years and has been actively involved in the community. His children went to Beacon, and his daughter, son-in-law and  two grandsons live in St John’s Ward.

Christine Howard

Christine moved with her husband Nigel to Uckfield in 1995. They met as young Conservatives many moons ago and Christine has been involved with the Uckfield Conservative Branch for many years and is the Branch Secretary.

Cllr Toby Illingworth

District Councillor for Buxted
Chairman of Wealden Conservatives

Cllr Toby Illingworth is Chairman of  Wealden Conservatives and District Councillor for Buxted, including High Hurstwood.

He serves on the following Wealden Council committees:

Cllr Philip Lunn

District Councillor for Crowborough South-East
Officer of Wealden Conservative Association

Philip Linn is district councillor for Crowborough South-East Ward. He is a member of the Audit and Finance committee. 

Cllr Ann Newton

District Councillor for Framfield
Officer of Wealden Conservative Association
Deputy Leader of Wealden District Council

Wealden District Councillor for Framfield & Cross-in-Hand  (including Blackboys)