Cllr Nigel Coltman

District Councillor for Hailsham Central
Town Councillor for Hailsham Hailsham Central
President of Hailsham Conservatives

Wealden District Councillor - Hailsham Central and North

Nigel and his wife Sandra moved to Hailsham in 1977.  Their four sons have all been educated in Hailsham schools, and are now successfully employed.  He has been active in the community through church choral and theatrical presentations at the community hall. He is a life member and supporter of the Hailsham Pavilion.

He was elected as a Wealden Councillor in 1999, serving as the Cabinet member for finance from 2001, and four years as Council Leader.  He has also served as a Hailsham Town Councillor for fourteen years in a variety of roles, most recently as Chairman of the Business Development Committee.

Nigel is a councillor member of Hailsham Forward, which grew out of Hailsham’s application for a Portas Grant, and over the coming year he expects to see some visible projects to enhance the image of the town.

His long term vision is for a town that is more ‘people focused’, and is working towards a refreshed town centre that will become an attractive focus for the growing population.

Nigel has been elected district councillor for the new Hailsham Central Ward where he is also a town councillor.



Who’s taking you home tonight? That's the question the taxi licensing authority says we should all be asking this Christmas


Wealden District Council has launched ‘Hailsham Aspires’. This is the name given to the Hailsham Town Centre Regeneration Project following feedback from Hailsham Community College sixth-formers and other partners.


Additional air quality monitoring could take place in Hailsham after the town council backed a proposal from the former Mayor.


It is with deep sadness that we received the news that Conservative councillor Glenn Moore had passed away on Friday 1st February.


Caught red-handed operating an unlicensed ‘taxi’ ... A Wealden man has been fined a total of £1,650 by Hastings Magistrates, and received six penalty points, for operating his own unlicensed ‘taxi’ service.

See Also

Cllr Bob Standley

Wealden District Council Leader, District Councillor for Frant and Wadhurst
County Councillor for Wealden NE and Lead Member for Education and Inclusion, Special Educational Needs and Disability
Deputy Chairman (Political) of Wealden Conservatives

East Sussex County Councillor for Wealden North East
Wealden District Councillor for Wadhurst and Council Leader
a Deputy Chairman of Wealden Conservatives

Cllr Kevin Balsdon

Town Councillor for Hailsham North-West
Deputy Chairman (Political) of Hailsham Conservatives

Kevin Balsdon is a Town councillor for Hailsham North-West

He says: "We live in a beautiful part of the country that is precious to us all, and I want to do all I can for the residents and the community here to ensure it remains that way.

Cllr Chris Bryant

Hailsham Town Councillor for Magham Down

Chris has lived in and around Hailsham all his life. He is working to make his home town a more enjoyable and prosperous place to live as your representative on the Town Council. 

Cllr Bob Bowdler

County Councillor for Hailsham Market
District Councillor for Horam & Punnetts Town

I was first elected for Heathfield East in May 2015, and also elected to the county council in 2017.  

Cllr Nicholas Collinson

District Councillor for Hailsham North

Wealden District Councillor for Hailsham Central & North, Nick was elected as District Councillor for Hailsham Central & North Ward in May 2011.

Cllr Phil Dixon

District Councillor for Hadlow Down & Rotherfield
Deputy Chairman (Membership) of Wealden Conservatives

Association Officer and Wealden District Councillor for Rotherfield

Cllr Claire Dowling

County Councillor for Uckfield North
District Councillor for Uckfield New Town Ward, with Helen Firth

East Sussex County Councillor for Uckfield North
Wealden District Councillor for Uckfield Central
Chairman of Uckfield Conservatives

Cllr Geoffrey Draper

District Councillor for Chiddingly Ward
Chairman of Mid-Weald Branch

Geoffrey Draper was elected district ouncillor for Chiddingly, East Hoathly & Waldron Ward (including Golden Cross and Halland) 

Geoffrey says, “I am first and foremost a resident of this Ward, situated almost exactly equidistant between Chiddingly, East Hoathly and Waldron.

Robin Farmer

Association Treasurer
Uckfield Branch Treasurer

Robin joined the Wealden officer team in 2003 and has used his professional experience to manage the Association's finances.

Cllr Helen Firth

District Councillor for Uckfield New Town, along with Claire Dowling
Town Councillor for Uckfield New Town
Deputy Chairman (Policy & Campaigning) Uckfield Conservatives

Wealden District and Uckfield Town Councillor for Uckfield New Town