Cllr Roy Galley

County Councillor for Maresfield and Buxted
District Councillor for Danehill & Fletching

Cllr Roy Galley

Roy Galley is the East Sussex County Councillor for Maresfield and Buxted, representing the parishes of Buxted ; Danehill ; Fletching ; part of Forest Row ; Isfield ; Maresfield -- and Wealden District Council member for  Danehill, Fletching & Nutley.

Roy, and his wife Helen, have lived in Nutley for over 17 years and have two married children.  He has extensive experience in business and politics, having been the Member of Parliament for Halifax from 1983 - 1987 and the Chairman of a Health Authority for 10 years. He retired from a senior position in Royal Mail in 2006.

From 2006 to 2011 Roy was a member of Maresfield Parish Council and was elected to Wealden District Council in 2007.  From 2008 to 2013, he was the council's portfolio holder for Planning and Development. His main responsiility was to produce a Local Plan for Wealden which sets out what development will go where throughout the 323 square miles covered by the Council. The Local Plan was adopted by the Council in November. The emphasis of the Plan was to ensure an adequate supply of housing and business opportunities whilst preserving the distinctive rural nature of the area. He believes that the key principle is to have the right development in the right place.  He was also responsible for managing the planning application process and for economic development.

In 2013 he took on a new portfolio for Economic Development and Regeneration. He aims to make it easy for businesses to access the right advice, raise the profile of our unique area and ensure the delivery of new infrastructure projects such as those implemented in  Uckfield and Hailsham.

He was re-elected in 2015 with an increased majority and now holds the portfolio for Economic Development and Waste Management.

Roy was an elected Commoner Conservator for the Ashdown Forest from 2008 to2018 and Chairman of the Board from 2013 to2016. He has been keen to improve the way the Forest is managed and to ensure good relationships between the staff of the Board of Conservators and local residents.

Roy is also a founder member and Chairman of the Chelwood Gate and Danehill Village Markets committee who run quarterly markets as a community focus and to showcase local produce.This committee also now organises tea parties for elderly people in the two villages twice a year.

In 2013 Roy was elected county councillor for Maresfield and Buxted and serves on the following ESCC committees:

  • Children's Services Scrutiny Committee (Chairman 2017 to2018)
  • Connecting 4 You Scrutiny Board
  • County Consultative Committee
  • East Sussex Better Together Scrutiny Board
  • Full Council
  • Scrutiny Review ‘Coping with Change - the Way Forward’.
  • Standing Advisory Council for Religious Education (SACRE) (Chair)
  • He is also since 2017 a member of the Executive of the National Association of Standing Advisory Committees on Religious education

Roy has been elected district councillor for the new ward of Danehill and Fletching (including Chelwood Gate, Piltdown, Isfield, Sharpthorne adn Charlwood) in May 2019's district council elections. 



Wealden District Council has declared a climate emergency and is embarking on a series of actions where it can make a difference.

It is aiming to achieve net-zero carbon dioxide emissions by the Council and across the District by 2050 – and pursue efforts for an earlier date.


If you are not joining Wealden's new garden waste service, it is time to say goodbye to the brown garden waste bin.  If you want to change your mind, you can still sign up at


Changes to recycling services for three East Sussex councils – Hastings, Rother and Wealden – have been confirmed under a new contract with Biffa which will see glass added to commingled collections from later this month.


A new waste, recycling, street and beach cleaning contract will start in Hastings, Rother and Wealden from the end of June this year. 


There are opportunities to improve your IT and computer skills across Wealden in the new year, as well as being able to pursue a wide range of other activities with Street Learning. These include cookery, arts and crafts, wellbeing and basic Maths and English.


Many Wealden food and drink businesses have made it to the finals of the 2019 Sussex Food and Drink Awards.


Keeping your business safe from cybercrime is important. Online crime is costing UK businesses £66 billion a year. There has been a 21% increase in this sort of crime since 2016, so businesses would be foolish not to take adequate precautions.

See Also

Cllr Bob Standley

Wealden District Council Leader, District Councillor for Frant and Wadhurst
County Councillor for Wealden NE and Lead Member for Education and Inclusion, Special Educational Needs and Disability
Deputy Chairman (Political) of Wealden Conservatives

East Sussex County Councillor for Wealden North East
Wealden District Councillor for Wadhurst and Council Leader
a Deputy Chairman of Wealden Conservatives

Cllr Keith Glazier

Leader of East Sussex County Council

Leader of East Sussex County Council - Cllr Keith Glazier, member for Rye and Eastern Rother, covering the parishes of East Guldeford ; Icklesham ; Iden ; Pett ; Playden ; and Rye.

Cllr Kevin Balsdon

Town Councillor for Hailsham North-West
Deputy Chairman (Political) of Hailsham Conservatives

Kevin Balsdon is a Town councillor for Hailsham North-West

He says: "We live in a beautiful part of the country that is precious to us all, and I want to do all I can for the residents and the community here to ensure it remains that way.

Cllr Nick Bennett

East Sussex County Councillor for Arlington, East Hoathly and Hellingly, Nick is Lead Member for Transport and Environment.

Cllr Bill Bentley

East Sussex County Councillor for Wealden East

East Sussex County Councillor for Wealden East covering the parishes of Heathfield & Waldron ; Herstmonceux ; Hooe ; Horam ; Ninfield ; Warbleton ; Wartling -- Lead Member for Communities and Safety.

Cllr Bob Bowdler

County Councillor for Hailsham Market
District Councillor for Horam & Punnetts Town

I was first elected for Heathfield East in May 2015, and also elected to the county council in 2017.  

Cllr Nicholas Collinson

District Councillor for Hailsham North

Wealden District Councillor for Hailsham Central & North, Nick was elected as District Councillor for Hailsham Central & North Ward in May 2011.

Cllr Nigel Coltman

District Councillor for Hailsham Central
Town Councillor for Hailsham Hailsham Central
President of Hailsham Conservatives

Wealden district and Hailsham town councillor for Central Ward. President of Hailsham Conservatives.

Cllr Phil Dixon

District Councillor for Hadlow Down & Rotherfield
Deputy Chairman (Membership) of Wealden Conservatives

Association Officer and Wealden District Councillor for Rotherfield

Cllr Chris Dowling

County Councillor for Uckfield South with Framfield

A vice-president of Wealden Conservatives, Cllr Chris Dowling is the elected county councillor for Uckfield South with Framfield including Ridgewood.