Cllr Susan Stedman

Wealden District Councillor for Horam, Susan has lived there for over thirty years and worked in the district for much of that time. She has represented Horam on Wealden District Council since 2003;  very involved with village affairs, and working closely with the Parish Council.  Susan is also a Trustee of The Club Rooms that has recently opened The Horam Centre in the High Street.  In addition she has three times organised The Horam Mile, for Sport Relief, raising thousands of pounds.

At Wealden District Council Susan is a valued member of Planning Committee South, where her down to earth approach is always welcomed. Two years ago she was made Chairman of the Licensing Committee.  Not only does this committee implement the sometimes controversial Licensing Laws passed in 2003, but also handles applications for taxis, checking that, for our safety, only fit and proper drivers and vehicles are licensed to work in the area.

Susan is Horam’s Conservative District Councillor at Wealden, having been first elected in 2003. She has lived in Maynards Green since the late 1970’s, with a short break in the Channel Islands during the 80’s. Since then she has worked locally for a number of small firms in Horam and Heathfield as well as Lewes and Eastbourne, so she has a comprehensive knowledge of the ups and downs of running a small business and the difference good local facilities can make. Susan and her husband, Mick, run a small business unit site on their redundant mushroom farm in Maynards Green. Between them they have four adult children and one grand-daughter.

Along with Bob Bowdler, Susan has been selected as Conservative candidate for the new Horam and Punnetts Town ward (including Swife Lane, Broad Oak, Trolliloes, Bodle Street Green and Warbleton) in May's district council election. Read their manifesto by clicking the link below to open a PDF document.


Attachment Size
Horam-web.pdf 346.28 KB